Emissions Help

Talk about your Rotaries!
JZstl

Emissions Help

Postby JZstl » Sun Apr 27, 2014 9:14

Hello all,

I'm new to the Mazda community and I wanted to ask for some local knowledge about getting my new RX-8 to pass emissions. I did quite a bit of reading on RX-8club.com and I found a few articles that were helpful, but I wanted to see what has worked best for Colorado in particular.

So I bought my RX-8 a couple weeks ago off Craigslist and I'm excited to get to know these cars better. I have owned several sporty cars in the past, but I have always liked RX-8s and this one was seemed to be a good value. It is on its second engine and has about 27k on the new engine. When I went for the test drive, I could smell/tell it was running a bit rich, as there was the smell of unburnt fuel out of the exhaust. After talking with the seller and telling him that he would be responsible if it didn't pass emissions, he decided to drop the price further in exchange for me no longer holding him responsible. Whether that was a good or bad idea is another topic, but anyway, that's the situation I'm in.

So I failed emissions this week, as I suspected, and after doing reading, I'm betting it is the catalytic converter. What do you guys think is the best plan to get it passing emissions? I have read around that the oem catalytic converters are the best ones out there, but they are a little over $1000 new, right? I also know you can't find them in junkyards, but sometimes people sell used ones on forums, etc. Or there are cheaper ones that will not last long at all. What has worked for you all?

Also, should I mess around with any of the other things that might make it fail emissions - O2 sensors, plugs, coils, etc.? I was planning on doing this list of preventative maintenance stuff eventually (http://www.rx8club.com/new-member-forum-197/new-potential-owners-start-here-202454/), but I would at least like to get it legal first.